THE MEETING OF EXETER CITY COUNCIL

Guildhall Tuesday 19 July 2011

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Cllr S Brock) The Deputy Lord Mayor (Cllr Mitchell) Councillors M A Baldwin, Bialyk, Branston, P J Brock, Bull, Clark, Cole, Crow, Dawson, Denham, Edwards, Fullam, A Hannaford, R M Hannaford, D J Henson, Mrs Henson, Hobden, Macdonald, Martin, Morris, Mrs J Morrish, Mottram, Newby, Newcombe, Payne, Prowse, Robson, Ruffle, Sheldon, Shiel, Spackman, Sutton, Taghdissian, Thompson, Tippins, Wardle and Winterbottom

24

MINUTES

The minutes of the Ordinary Meeting held on 12 April 2011 and, subject to the inclusion of a reference to Councillor Shiel being taken ill during the meeting, the minutes of the Annual Meeting held on 17 May 2011 were taken as read and signed as correct.

Cllr Shiel recorded his appreciation for the care and support given to him by colleagues and staff.

25

OFFICIAL COMMUNICATIONS

The Lord Mayor announced with sadness the death of Mr Gerald Dixon, Escort to the former Lord Mayor Valerie Dixon in 2002 - 3. Council joined the Lord Mayor in sending condolences to Alderman Dixon.

26

PLANNING COMMITTEE - 18 APRIL 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Planning Committee held on 18 April 2011, presented by Councillor Mrs Henson, were taken as read.

Members declared the following personal interests:

COUNCILLOR	MINUTE
Dawson	41 (employee of University of Exeter)
Prowse	 41 (student landlord) 42 (daughter is a member of Exeter Gymnastics Club) 43 (he knows the applicant and was a
	former owner of the property)

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Planning Committee held on 18 April 2011 be received.

PLANNING COMMITTEE - 23 MAY 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Planning Committee held on 23 May 2011, presented by Councillor Bialyk, were taken as read.

Members declared the following personal interests:

COUNCILLOR	MINUTE
P J Brock	50 (Member of Devon County Council)
Prowse	50 (Member of Devon County Council)
	51 (Student landlord)

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Planning Committee held on 23 May 2011 be received.

28

PLANNING COMMITTEE - 27 JUNE 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Planning Committee held on 27 June 2011, presented by Councillor Bialyk, were taken as read.

Members declared the following personal interests:

COUNCILLOR	MINUTE
Dawson	60 and 61 (member of RSPB)
Macdonald	60 and 61 (member of RSPB)

In relation to Minute 60 (Planning Application No. 10/2088/01 - Land at Pinhoe Quarry, Harrington Lane, Exeter), it was noted that Councillor Mrs Thompson would request Planning Committee at their next meeting to include specific reference to Extract paragraphs 3.3 to 3.4 of the Pinhoe Access Strategy.

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Planning Committee held on 27 June 2011 be received.

29

LICENSING COMMITTEE - 19 APRIL 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Licensing Committee held on 19 April 2011, presented by Councillor Shiel, were taken as read.

Members declared the following personal interests:

COUNCILLOR	MINUTE
Ruffle	29 (known to the applicant)
Shiel	29 (known to the applicant)

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Licensing Committee held on 19 April 2011 be received.

27

LICENSING COMMITTEE - 14 JUNE 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Licensing Committee held on 14 June 2011, presented by Councillor Macdonald, were taken as read.

Members declared the following personal (*prejudicial) interests and left the meeting where appropriate:

COUNCILLOR	MINUTE
Dawson	*33 (member of Fawcett Devon who had opposed the original application for a Licence)
Macdonald	*33 (member of Fawcett Devon who had opposed the original application for a Licence)

In relation to resolution (2) of Minute 32 (Proposal to Designate Streets as Prohibited Streets, Licence Streets and Consents Streets for Street Trading), it was noted that delegated powers had been granted to the Head of Environmental Health Services, in consultation with the Chair of the Licensing Committee, to deal with the migration of existing consents on this occasion.

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Licensing Committee held on 14 June 2011 be received.

31

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE - COMMUNITY - 7 JUNE 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Scrutiny Committee – Community held on 7 June 2011, presented by Councillor Mitchell, were taken as read.

Members declared the following personal interests:

COUNCILLOR	MINUTE
Morris	42 (husband is employed by UCATT representing Mears employees)
Newcombe	35 (member of Devon County Council)

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Scrutiny Committee - Community held on 7 June 2011 be received.

32

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE - ECONOMY - 9 JUNE 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Scrutiny Committee – Economy held on 9 June 2011, presented by Councillor Cole, were taken as read.

Members declared the following personal (*prejudicial) interests and left the meeting where appropriate:

30

COUNCILLOR	MINUTE
Bialyk	24 (non-voting member of Exeter Transport Club, Summerland Street)
Morris	24 (member of USDAW) 29 (employed by MP who was being discussed)
Payne	24 and 28 (employee of Exeter College)
Prowse	24 (member of Devon County Council)
Thompson	*24 and *25 (business with Eagle One)

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Scrutiny Committee - Economy held on 9 June 2011 be received.

33

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE - RESOURCES - 22 JUNE 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Scrutiny Committee – Resources held on 22 June 2011, presented by Councillor Baldwin, were taken as read.

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Scrutiny Committee - Resources held on 22 June 2011 be received.

34

EXECUTIVE - 21 JUNE 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Executive held on 21 June 2011, presented by Councillor Edwards, were taken as read.

Members declared the following personal interests:

COUNCILLOR	MINUTE
S Brock	53 (owner of business subject to inspection)
P Brock	53 (owner of business subject to inspection)
Prowse	71 (Member of Devon County Council) 73 (Student landlord - HMO license holder)

In relation to Minute 60 (Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies), the following outstanding appointments were agreed:-

- City Centre Management Partnership Cllr Edwards to replace former Cllr Wadham
- Councillor Development Steering Group Cllrs Spackman and Morris to replace Cllrs A Hannaford and Sheldon, Cllr Cole to replace former Cllr Newton
- Devon Playing Fields Association Cllr D Henson to replace former Cllr Mrs Danks as substitute
- Exeter Arts Council Cllr Shiel to replace former Cllr Coates
- Exeter Canal and Quay Trust Cllr Bull to replace Cllr PJ Brock
- Exeter Council for Voluntary Service to be confirmed
- Exeter Dispensary and Aid in Sickness Fund no further appointment was made
- Exeter Fairtrade Steering Group no further appointment was made

- Exeter Municipal Charities (General List) Cllr Robson to replace former Cllr Wadham
- Exeter Social, Health and Inclusion Partnership Cllr Macdonald to replace former Cllr Newton
- Royal Albert Memorial Museum Development Trust Cllr Mitchell to replace former Cllr Wadham
- St Edmund and St Mary Major, Exeter Cllr M Baldwin to replace former Cllr Coates
- St Loyes College Council Cllrs R Hannaford and Crow to replace former Cllrs D Baldwin and Mrs Danks. No substitute was appointed.

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Executive held on 21 June 2011 be received and, where appropriate, adopted.

35

EXECUTIVE - 5 JULY 2011

The minutes of the meeting of Executive held on 5 July 2011, presented by Councillor Edwards, were taken as read.

Members declared the following personal interests:

COUNCILLOR	MINUTE
Newcombe	73 (owns a property in the area)
Prowse	71 (member of Devon County Council) and 73 (student landlord)

Members recorded their appreciation for the hard work of officers in securing the John Lewis store for Exeter.

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Executive held on 5 July 2011 be received and, where appropriate, adopted.

(The meeting commenced at 6.00 pm and closed at 7.35 pm)

Chair